The SGroup President is:

  • the highest authority of the Group;
  • the legal representative of the Association;
  • in charge of appointing a member of the Executive Committee to act as Vice-President and to replace the President in case of absence or incapacity of acting.


Election of the President:

  • The President is elected by the affirmative votes of the majority of the members of the General Assembly for a period of office of two years;
  • The President may be re-elected for a second and a third period of office;
  • It must be the Rector, Former Rector, Vice-Rector, former Vice-Rector (or of equivalent academic rank) of one of the member institutions and shall be its representative to the General Assembly.

To get more information about the President's function, please consult the Santander Group Statutes  (only for members).

Current SGroup President

Dr Arnim Heinemann
Dr Arnim Heinemann

President of SGroup – Universities in Europe

Senior Executive Director Bayreuth International

University of Bayreuth (Germany)

Arnim Heinemann holds a PhD in Middle Eastern Studies and Comparative Literature. During his academic career, his time in the German diplomatic service and several senior executive positions in academic and HE management, he gained expertise in science diplomacy, strategic internationalisation and global HE leadership with a focus on global research networks and responsible development of sustainable HE collaboration worldwide. He oversees the University of Bayreuth’s global engagement with offices in Africa, Australia, Asia and Europe. He is an executive committee member of SGroup – Universities in Europe, as well as a member of the committee for new funding programmes at the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and a founding member of the steering group at the German chapter of the global network “Scholars at Risk”.


Former SGroup Presidents

Period President
2020 - 2022 Dr Arnim Heinemann (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
2016 - 2020 Prof. Jacek Witkoś (Adam Mickiewicz University Poznań, Poland)
2012 - 2016 Prof. Albert Corhay (University of Liege, Belgium)
2008 - 2012 Prof. John Tuppen (Joseph Fourrier-Grenoble 1 University, France)
2004 - 2008 Prof. Stefan Jurga (Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza, Poznań, Poland)
2002 - 2005 Prof. Jesús María Sanz Serna (Universidad de Valladolid, Spain)
2002 - 2004 Prof. José Ferreira Gomes (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
1997 - 2001 Prof. Manuel Esteban Albert (Universidad de Murcia, Spain)
1988 - 1997 Prof. José María Ureña (Universidad de Cantabria, Santander, Spain)
Have your say